Dublin, Ireland

I have just returned from my solo adventure to Dublin. It was trip of many firsts, my first time travelling alone, the first time I had stayed in a hostel and the first time I had been to Ireland; it makes sense that this is my first post!

Day One – Grafton Street Area & Temple Bar: After checking into the hostel around midday I headed to Trinity College and the Long Room to see the Book of Kells. I went into the center to see Dublin Castle and the Chester Beatty Library before spending the evening cosy in the corner of a pub in Temple Bar.

IMG_5852

Day Two – Kilmainham  & the Liberties: I had to go and see the General Post Office, a key sight in the Easter Rising, on my way to Kilmainham Gaol which was quite a walk from the hostel but so informative I would highly recommend it. No trip to Dublin would be complete without a visit to the Guinness Storehouse which includes a free pint in the Gravity Bar with views right across the city. I stopped to take pictures of Christchurch Cathedral on the way back and enjoyed an evening of Irish dancing and live music at the Arlington Hotel Celtic Night.

IMG_5851

Day Three – Docklands, Merrion Square, and a return to Temple Bar: I started off wandering through the financial district and down to Merrion Square, across to St Stephen’s Green, and then I sat for a while people watching in the garden of St Patrick’s Cathedral. I had a stroll around the Temple Bar food market and enjoyed a leisurely hot chocolate in a cute cafe and some last minute tacky souvenir shopping before heading to the airport.

IMG_5853


Five observations: 

  1. The weather in Ireland is very changeable: you can see the glorious sunshine in the last picture but later that day while I was waiting for the bus to the airport it was hailing!
  2. I like Guinness: I’d never actually tried it before I went and wrongly assumed I wouldn’t like it. The storehouse for great fun and very interactive, I wonder if Guinness will ever taste as good as in Dublin.
  3. History is much more interesting when you’re in among it: all throughout the city were copies of the proclamation of the Easter Rising marking the 100th anniversary. I knew very little of Irish history before going and found the Gaol tour in particular to be fascinating.
  4. The book of Kells is a bit overrated: perhaps I have been exposed to too many interesting artifacts in museums but I found the book to be underwhelming, regardless of how old it is.
  5. Irish accents are perfect: so I knew this before I went but couldn’t not include it, I could sit all day listening to the locals chatting around me!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post.. I’m glad you enjoyed the trip here!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Will definitely be going back one day, might go to Cork too next time! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

